IAA Welcomes You - Login
Virtual Campus Login
Strip of world flags

Your order: 0 items

Go shopping!

Dictionary of Astrological and Astronomical Terms

Compiled by Julene Packer-Louis, Evan Bortnick, and Jackie Goldstein

Copyright 2000-2020 OCA, Inc. All rights reserved. No portion of the dictionary may be reproduced in any form without written permission.


Chaldean Order of the Planets

Mesopotamian astrology, considered the birthplace of Western, Hindu and Chinese Astrology is often referred to as Chaldean astrology. Our 12 sign zodiac was devised in Mesopotamia.

The so-called Chaldean Order of Planets is Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon. The first (geocentrically outermost) Chaldean planet, Saturn, is the "heaviest" or "slowest," and the 7th or last (geocentrically innermost) Chaldean 'planet,' the Moon, is the "lightest" or "swiftest."

Related terms:

Search again:

 A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M 
 N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Return to main dictionary page

All material at this Web site is Copyright © 1997-2020 by OCA, Corp. All rights reserved. Reproduction without written permission is prohibited.
The IAA logo is copyright © 2015 OCA, Corp. "International Academy of Astrology" is a trademark of OCA, Corp.