IAA Welcomes You - Login
Virtual Campus Login
Strip of world flags

Your order: 0 items

Go shopping!

Dictionary of Astrological and Astronomical Terms

Compiled by Julene Packer-Louis, Evan Bortnick, and Jackie Goldstein

Copyright 2000-2020 OCA, Inc. All rights reserved. No portion of the dictionary may be reproduced in any form without written permission.


Decanate (Decan)

Each sign of the zodiac occupies 30 degrees. Every sign is further sub-divided into 10 degree segments called Decanates ruled by the three signs of the same element. Thus, while all three decanates are first and foremost Arian/Martian in quality, the first decanate of Aries is the strongest because it is also sub-ruled by Aries, the second decanate is sub-ruled by Leo and therefore takes on an additional Leonine/Sun flavor, while the third decanate of Aries is sub-ruled by Sagittarius, taking on a Sagittarian/Jupiter flavor.

There is a Chaldean division of each sign into three 10-degree faces ruled by the seven classical planets in Chaldean order starting with Mars ruling the first Face of Aries.


See also:

Search again:

 A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M 
 N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Return to main dictionary page

All material at this Web site is Copyright © 1997-2020 by OCA, Corp. All rights reserved. Reproduction without written permission is prohibited.
The IAA logo is copyright © 2015 OCA, Corp. "International Academy of Astrology" is a trademark of OCA, Corp.