IAA Welcomes You - Login
Virtual Campus Login
Strip of world flags

Your order: 0 items

Go shopping!

Dictionary of Astrological and Astronomical Terms

Compiled by Julene Packer-Louis, Evan Bortnick, and Jackie Goldstein

Copyright 2000-2020 OCA, Inc. All rights reserved. No portion of the dictionary may be reproduced in any form without written permission.



Also known as "dwads." The Hindus were the first to divide each sign into 12 equal parts for separate study. One-twelfth of a sign is a dwadashamsa.

They are also called "faces" of 2 1/2 degrees each; or "phases," 1/4 of a decan (not to be confused with the Moon's phases). There are a total of 144 dwadashamsa or "dwads" in the complete zodiac.

See also:

Search again:

 A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M 
 N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Return to main dictionary page

All material at this Web site is Copyright © 1997-2020 by OCA, Corp. All rights reserved. Reproduction without written permission is prohibited.
The IAA logo is copyright © 2015 OCA, Corp. "International Academy of Astrology" is a trademark of OCA, Corp.